Tuesday, October 07, 2008

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2008

The Nobel Prize in Physics for 2008 has been announced by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. This year the prize goes to Yoichiro Nambu (USA) "for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics" and Makoto Kobayashi (JPN) and Toshihide Maskawa (JPN) "for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature".

I tried to read more about the stuff they discovered but got very confused. It is quantum physics not exactly my forte.

Press Release

Last years winners

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments welcome!
Please note that posts containing links not pertaining to the discussion may be deleted!

Thank you